Living by It. One lesson a day…

… from Quran. Changing slowly, but surely.

Hey you! February 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Saima @ 12:56 pm

Hi, I’m Sammy. I plan to put up a verse from the Quran here, everyday. Yes, everyday IA. While I understand this has probably been done to death, I’m trying this because it’ll help me reach out to people I know, it’ll help me to read Quran everyday and it’ll help me to follow the things I write because knowing me, I can’t say something and not do it myself first. I’m expecting a hard journey because there are parts that I haven’t comprehended enough myself and there are parts that I conveniently ignored because they “don’t apply to me” or because “they are too tough to do in these times”.

Initially, I had thought of just putting up a verse everyday and let you decide how you want to take it… and you can still do that, by just reading above the partition… but then, I thought I should break it into parts and explain things quoting stuff from my life. This is, after all, my blog (!!), and maybe writing it all down will help me better.

I hope you all benefit from this as much as I’m going to IA. I just feel I need to do more as a person so this is just my minuscule contribution that will hopefully bring only good.

 

2 Responses to “Hey you!”

  1. Ameera Says:

    I’m expecting a hard journey because there are parts that I haven’t comprehended enough myself and there are parts that I conveniently ignored because they “don’t apply to me” or because “they are too tough to do in these times”.

    Assalam-o-alaikum and welcome to the vast world of blogging Sammy! 😀 It’s super to see you here!

    This idea’s really great and don’t worry about it being “done to death” because, like I’ve quoted you above, it’s all about self-learning and moving on. It’s this innate thing in humans that we are more likely to do something positive when we know someone’s listening/watching/noting. That’s the concept of Taqwa and accountability too. 🙂

    What you’ve started is an awesome way to stay in touch with the Qur’an because it’s a commitment and really, if you look at it honestly, doesn’t take too much of your time daily after all. If it ever seems difficult, you can revise your goal but I’d say, put up something, even if it’s two lines. 🙂

    Writing things down always helps you, no matter what state it is that you are in. In times of sadness or doubt, sometimes your own words work wonders.:)

    I’ll be waiting for your uploads and yeah, don’t worry about what people comment. There is always the odd reader who leaves a nasty comment… solution: politely ignore him/her. If there are more than one views on something or if someone feels there’s a better way to state something, I’m sure you’ll welcome that openly.

    Okay, don’t wanna outstay my welcome. Remember me in your duas, girl! 😀

  2. livingbyit Says:

    Ameera: Thank you so much!!! It feels great to be here. I like the way you said, “That’s the concept of Taqwa…” I never looked at it that way, but it’s true, when you’re doing something that’s out in the open, you feel more responsibility for it.

    Thank you for the warm welcome! 🙂


Leave a Reply

